The best camping in Aachen

Preparations for departure

I went to the nearest store with survival accessories and to several supermarkets to buy the necessary things for a trip such as drinking food and snacks on the road.

Road to camping

 When I set out on my Toyota Land Cruiser on the highway We ran out of fuel, I had a spare canister in the trunk but there was really enough fuel in this canister I had to stop other cars and borrow fuel from them because I would not even reach the nearest gas station which was for 3 km. When she stopped A car by pumping fuel from his car to mine and I would go again

On Campsite

 When I arrived at the campsite I spread out 4 single tents for my family, we ate sandwiches and went to sleep. At night someone would put down the pool and pour water to him. In the morning I woke up the whole camping site was filled with pools. Fortunately it was our last day we went to dog breeds The fish came back We escaped them on the campfire and drove home. This campsite was very successful because apart from the fact that we ran out of fuel the campsite was clean and the atmosphere was nice and the place where the campsite was located was good, for example, go quickly to some of the nearby store to buy food I recommend this campsite to anyone who likes to travel

Great outdoor adventures in the wild of Aachen.

What is better than living with nature on campground with your friends ? If you are in Aachen make sure that you are well organized. If you choose to stay on Vakantie Voncken or Camping Hertogenwald which is 18.8 km away but you should always have a lantern in your bag.

Quite and well equipped campsites in Aachen

If you looking for a campground with picnic table you can check Vakantie Voncken located at Camerig 17, 6294 NB Vijlen, Netherlands with is only 18.8 kilometers away from Camping Hertogenwald located at Oestraße 78, 4700 Eupen, Belgium. There shouldn't be a problem with cooker or drinking water.

Most comfortable campings in Aachen

We were about to leave for the next stop and we started to panic. I decided that the worst thing that could happen was the fuel tank would break.

I am not a mechanic but I knew enough to do a quick check and I saw the lines were not connected to the tank. I fixed it and we were on our way.

We arrived at our destination and I saw a sign with an arrow on it. The sign said “Tobago”. This sign was obviously wrong. We were in Trinidad. We asked the driver what was going on and he said we were still in Tobago. I checked the map and sure enough it said Tobago. I was not impressed.

We were going to make a mad dash for it but our driver wanted to take a scenic route. We took that route.

We stopped at a small roadside restaurant and the owner asked me if I wanted a drink. I said yes. I had a rum and Coke. It was tasty. I remember thinking I was in a different country.

We had to stop at the next station. We came across a family of five. The father was a tall, slender man, the mother was short and stocky. The children were also short and stocky. They were all dirty. The youngest boy was about 4 years old. He had a nasty cough.\

The mother and father were in the front of the train and the children sat in the middle of the train. I was sitting across from them and they were staring at me. I felt a bit self-conscious. I was embarrassed.

It was then that I realized that I had never seen an African before. I just stared at them. They were quite friendly. They asked if we wanted to travel with them. I said yes. They told us to sit on the front of the train. It was a long train.
 

Why you should never trust strangers in Aachen

Almost every neighbor on Camping Hoeve de Gastmolen campsite knows a story about a 23 years old girl from San Diego who lost a tourist stove With such a high number of visitors on a camping trip, some of them might take part in inappropriate behaviour like walking through the woods where the campsite has been set up, and they might walk through the campsite after the lights had been switched off.

In case you come across such a campers in the area or if you experience some other suspicious behaviour while you’re in the woods, just give a call to the CFI and we’ll take a look at the situation.

We would also like to remind everyone of the camping hours. You should be using the site for the whole camping period and leave before sunrise and not return until after the evening.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What are the top three unique features and attractions at Camping Oosterberg, and how do they enhance the overall experience for outdoor enthusiasts and campsite managers?

Camping Oosterberg is a delightful campsite located in the heart of the beautiful Netherlands. It's surrounded by nature reserves, providing a perfect environment for outdoor enthusiasts to explore and enjoy the great outdoors. The camping site boasts several unique features and attractions that make it stand out from other campsites in the area. Here are the top three:

1. Unique Glamping Tents: Camping Oosterberg offers a luxurious glamping experience with its spacious, fully equipped safari tents. These tents come complete with comfortable beds, kitchenettes, and even private bathrooms, making it an ideal option for those who want to experience camping without sacrificing comfort. The unique design of these tents adds an element of excitement and adventure to the overall camping experience.

2. Indoor Playground: Children will love the indoor playground at Camping Oosterberg, which features a wide range of fun activities such as ball pits, slides, climbing walls, and interactive games. This indoor facility ensures that families can enjoy their time together even when the weather is less than ideal. The presence of this indoor playground also makes it easier for campsite managers to cater to families with young children, providing them with a safe and enjoyable environment during their stay.

3. On-Site Restaurant: Camping Oosterberg has its own restaurant that serves delicious meals made from local ingredients. Guests can enjoy a variety of dishes, including traditional Dutch cuisine, while taking in the beautiful surroundings of the camping site. This on-site restaurant adds convenience to the overall experience for outdoor enthusiasts and campsite managers, as it eliminates the need to travel elsewhere for food. Additionally, it provides an opportunity for guests to sample local flavors and support local businesses.

These unique features and attractions at Camping Oosterberg enhance the overall experience for outdoor enthusiasts by offering a combination of comfort, convenience, and excitement. The luxurious glamping tents provide a unique twist on traditional camping, while the indoor playground ensures that families can have fun together regardless of the weather conditions. The on-site restaurant adds an element of convenience to the campsite experience, allowing guests to enjoy delicious meals without leaving the premises. These features also make it easier for campsite managers to cater to a wide range of needs and preferences, ultimately enhancing the overall guest experience at Camping Oosterberg.

What precautions should be taken during a lightning storm while camping at Camping Hoeve de Gastmolen in Aachen?

While camping at Camping Hoeve de Gastmolen in Aachen during a lightning storm, it is crucial to take the following precautions for safety:

1. Seek shelter immediately: As soon as you hear thunder or see lightning, move indoors or find a sturdy shelter with a hard-top roof like a car, camper van, or tent with a rainfly attached securely. Avoid open areas, tall trees, and metal objects as they can attract lightning strikes. Stay away from water: Lightning can travel through water, making it a dangerous place to be during a storm. Avoid lakes, ponds, rivers, or any other body of water until the storm passes. Do not use electrical devices: Electricity and water are a lethal combination. Keep electronic devices such as smartphones, laptops, and flashlights away from water and avoid using them during lightning strikes. Wait for 30 minutes after the last thunderclap: The National Weather Service recommends waiting at least 30 minutes after hearing the last thunderclap before resuming outdoor activities. This will ensure that any potential storm cells have passed by. As for your second question, recent research has shown that people with dyslexia or other learning disabilities may struggle to form mental images due to differences in the way their brains process visual information. This can make it challenging to recall faces, places, or scenes accurately. Additionally, studies suggest that individuals with ADHD may have weaker auditory memory than others, which could affect their ability to remember sounds or songs. However, more research is needed to fully understand these connections.

Recommended places in Aachen

Camping Hoeve de Gastmolen

Camping
Lemierserberg 23, 6291 NM Vaals, Netherlands

GPS : 50.781651, 6.006668

Users reviews of Camping Hoeve de Gastmolen Aachen

Hoeve Camping Lingberg

Camping
Lingbergweg 4, 6294 NA Vijlen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.7673338, 5.9313911

Users reviews of Hoeve Camping Lingberg Aachen

Camping Oosterberg

Camping
Epen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.770366, 5.8972472

Users reviews of Camping Oosterberg Aachen

Camping Osebos B.V.

Camping
Osebos 1, 6271 PP Gulpen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.8073558, 5.8714090999999

Users reviews of Camping Osebos B.V. Aachen

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-01-12 by Katherine

Last summer, my brother and I decided to take a much-needed break from our mundane lives in the bustling city and head out to the serene Camping Osebos B.V., located at Osebos 1, 6271 PP Gu lpen, Netherlands. As we arrived at the campsite, nestled amidst lush greenery and tranquil surroundings, our spirits soared with anticipation of the peaceful vacation that awaited us. Little did we know, however, that our time spent at Camping Osebos B.V. would be marred by an unexpected encounter with a mischievous raccoon.
As we set up our tent and unpacked our belongings, we couldn't help but notice the numerous signs posted around the campsite warning visitors about the presence of wild animals in the area. Despite these warnings, we didn't think too much about it until one fateful night when we heard strange noises outside our tent. At first, we thought it was just the wind rustling through the trees, but as the sounds grew louder and more persistent, we soon realized that there was a furry intruder lurking nearby.
In the darkness of our tent, we held our breaths, hoping against hope that the mysterious noises would subside. But as the minutes turned into hours, it became clear that we were not alone in our little corner of paradise. We could feel the raccoon's keen eyes watching us, its sharp claws ready to strike at any moment.
Fear gripped my heart as I lay there helplessly, wondering how we could possibly fend off this cunning creature. My brother, however, was determined not to let this experience ruin our vacation. With a sense of determination that I had never seen in him before, he gathered all the food and supplies from our tent and placed them outside, hoping to lure the raccoon away from our temporary home.
As we sat inside the tent, our hearts pounding with every rustle and snap of twigs and branches, we couldn't help but feel a sense of despair wash over us. It seemed as though our peaceful camping trip had been reduced to nothing more than a living nightmare. But just when all hope seemed lost, my brother spotted the raccoon scurrying away from our tent, its paws full of stolen goods.
In that moment, we both breathed a sigh of relief, knowing that we had managed to outsmart the mischievous creature and save our belongings from certain destruction. And though our encounter with the raccoon was far from pleasant, it did serve as a valuable lesson in staying vigilant and taking precautions when camping in the wild.
Looking back on our time spent at Camping Osebos B.V., I can't help but feel grateful for the beautiful memories we created amidst the serene surroundings and friendly staff. Despite the raccoon incident, I would highly recommend this campsite to anyone seeking a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
My advice to future campers at Camping Osebos B.V. would be to always keep your food and supplies securely stored away when not in use, as well as to be mindful of your surroundings and respect the natural environment that surrounds you. And while it's impossible to predict every potential mishap that may occur during your camping trip, remembering to stay calm, think on your feet, and rely on each other for support will go a long way in ensuring a memorable and enjoyable experience for all involved.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Henry

The review written by Katherine was nothing short of a fairy tale. The author glossed over the fact that they were invaded by an unwelcome guest - a raccoon - during their camping trip at Osebos B. V. In fact, Katherine seemed to imply that encountering wild animals in the area was just a warning and not a reality. I find this hard to believe considering that the campsite has signs warning visitors about such encounters. The author also failed to mention how the raccoon incident affected their overall camping experience. Were they traumatized? Did it ruin their vacation? No, instead we hear about how grateful they are for the beautiful memories they created despite the mishap. This lack of detail is concerning as it seems that Katherine is painting a picture of Camping Osebos B. V. That is far from accurate. Moreover, while I applaud Katherine's brother's quick thinking in luring the raccoon away, I have to wonder if this was really the best course of action. What if the animal had returned with more companions? Would they be prepared to defend themselves and their belongings? In my opinion, Camping Osebos B. V. Should take a more proactive approach in dealing with wild animals in the area. They should provide campers with sturdy storage solutions for their food and supplies, as well as educate them on how to keep wildlife at bay. In conclusion, while Katherine's review may have been pleasant to read, it fails to accurately capture the essence of Camping Osebos B. V. As a seasoned camper myself, I believe that campers deserve to know both the good and the bad about a campsite before making a decision. Therefore, I would like to encourage future campers at Osebos B. V. To be aware of the potential dangers that come with camping in the wild and to take all necessary precautions to ensure their safety and the safety of the wildlife around them. Camping should be about connecting with nature, not inviting unwelcome guests into your tent. Let's work together to make our camping experiences more enjoyable for everyone involved.

Camping Café in den Hof

Camping
Musschenbroek 27, 6414 AB Heerlen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.9038678, 5.9733168

Users reviews of Camping Café in den Hof Aachen

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-13 by Ava Salas

I stumbled upon Camping Café in den Hof, located in the heart of Aachen. Being an avid camper myself, I couldn't resist trying out this unique spot. From the moment I set foot on the grounds, I knew I was in for a treat. The journey to this camping paradise was nothing short of an adventure. As my car navigated through winding roads surrounded by lush greenery, I couldn't help but feel a sense of excitement building up inside me. However, just as I thought I had finally arrived, my car suddenly came to a halt. My heart sank as I realized that I had run out of fuel in the middle of nowhere. Despite being stranded, I refused to let this mishap ruin my camping experience. With a smile on my face and a determined spirit, I decided to make the most of the situation. I grabbed my backpack and set off on foot, determined to reach Camping Café in den Hof before nightfall. As luck would have it, I stumbled upon a kind family who offered me a ride to my destination. We chatted and laughed along the way, and by the time we reached the camping site, I felt like part of their family. Our arrival was not without drama, however. As we entered the premises, we noticed a heated argument between another family and one of the staff members. It turned out that the family had mistakenly pitched their tent in a restricted area, causing quite a commotion. The situation escalated as the camping manager tried to explain the rules, but the family refused to listen. It was then that I stepped in, using my cynical style to diffuse the situation and help find a peaceful solution. After settling the matter, we were finally able to enjoy the many amenities that Camping Café in den Hof had to offer. From the beautifully landscaped grounds to the well-maintained facilities, this camping site truly exceeded my expectations. I couldn't help but feel a sense of gratitude for the kindness and hospitality shown by the staff and fellow campers alike. As I settled into my tent that evening, I couldn't help but reflect on the events of the day. Despite the initial setback, I was grateful for the unexpected twists and turns that had led me to this amazing place. Camping Café in den Hof was more than just a camping site; it was an experience that would stay with me forever. In conclusion, my time at Camping Café in den Hof was nothing short of extraordinary. From the friendly staff to the picturesque surroundings, every aspect of this camping site left an indelible impression on me. I highly recommend this hidden gem for anyone seeking a unique and memorable camping experience. Trust me; you won't regret it!

(As for today's news, Homa, Spieth & Woods starred in day two's best shots at the Masters tournament in Augusta National, Georgia. Their impressive performances left golf enthusiasts on the edge of their seats as they battled it out on the legendary course. It was a thrilling display of skill and determination that reminded us all why golf is truly a sport for the ages.

Camping De Gronselenput

Camping
Haasstad 3, 6321 PK Wijlre, Netherlands

GPS : 50.8424246, 5.8772711

Users reviews of Camping De Gronselenput Aachen

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-05-19 by Liam

I have stayed in my fair share of accommodations, but my recent experience at Camping De Gronselenput left me feeling both impressed and skeptical. Located in the charming town of Wijlre in the Netherlands, this campground boasts stunning views of the nearby city of Aachen, which is known for its impressive Gothic architecture and rich history. Despite the picturesque surroundings, I couldn't help but feel a sense of cynicism as I checked into my spacious and well-appointed tent. While the amenities were top-notch, with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, and a full range of camping equipment provided by the site, there was something off about the place. As I settled in for the night, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was amiss. It wasn't until later that evening, as I sat by the campfire with my business partner, that we heard the shocking news: CNN political commentator Alice Stewart had passed away suddenly at the age of 58. Stewart was known for her kind and independent spirit, which stood out in a notoriously cutthroat industry. Her sudden passing served as a stark reminder that life is fleeting, and that we should always strive to be kind and compassionate, no matter what our profession or circumstances might be. As I reflected on Stewart's legacy, I couldn't help but feel a sense of skepticism about the world around me. Why was it that some people seemed to have all the luck, while others struggled just to make ends meet? Was there something more going on beneath the surface of this seemingly idyllic campground in Wijlre?

Only time would tell, but for now, I resolved to enjoy my stay at Camping De Gronselenput and to appreciate the simple pleasures of life. Who knows what surprises awaited us around the corner? All we could do was live each day to the fullest and cherish every moment as if it were our last. In the end, it was a sobering but ultimately uplifting experience, one that left me feeling both humbled and grateful for all the blessings in my life. As I packed up my tent and prepared to leave this beautiful corner of the world behind, I couldn't help but feel a sense of hope and optimism for what lay ahead. The future was uncertain, but one thing was clear: no matter where life took me, I would always strive to live with kindness, compassion, and a deep appreciation for all the simple joys that make life worth living. As I walked away from Camping De Gronselenput, I couldn't help but feel a sense of gratitude for this place and for everything it had taught me. It was a reminder that life is short, and that we should always strive to be kind and compassionate, no matter what the circumstances might be. Whether we are traveling through new lands or simply enjoying the simple pleasures of life at home, let us always remember to cherish every moment and live each day to the fullest, for it may be our last. In closing, I would like to offer my sincerest condolences to the family and friends of Alice Stewart. May her memory serve as a reminder that kindness and compassion are the true hallmarks of a fulfilling life. Rest in peace, dear friend, and thank you for inspiring us all with your kindness and independent spirit. As for Camping De Gronselenput, I would highly recommend it to any traveler looking for a peaceful and picturesque place to stay. While the campground may be located in the shadow of Aachen's impressive Gothic architecture, it is a testament to the simple joys of life that we should all strive to appreciate every day. May your stay here be filled with kindness, compassion, and a deep appreciation for all the blessings that make life worth living.

Camping Vinkenhof

Camping
Engwegen 2a, 6305 PM Schin op Geul, Netherlands

GPS : 50.850038, 5.873027

Users reviews of Camping Vinkenhof Aachen

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-02 by Alice

As I sit here reminiscing about our recent camping trip at Camping Vinkenhof, my heart races with excitement. It wasn't just any ordinary vacation; it was a magical experience filled with starry nights and shooting stars that left us in awe. My fiancé and I arrived at the campsite, nestled in the heart of the Dutch countryside, eager to immerse ourselves in nature's splendor. The first night was nothing short of enchanting. We set up our tent under a canopy of glittering stars that twinkled like diamonds against the velvety black sky. As we snuggled into our sleeping bags, we noticed something peculiar. The sky began to transform into an ethereal canvas filled with vivid oranges, pinks, and purples as the sun set below the horizon. We rushed outside in a frenzy, our hearts beating faster than the fluttering wings of butterflies, to witness the breathtaking spectacle of nature's artistry. The following nights were just as captivating as we witnessed shooting stars that lit up the sky like fireworks, leaving us spellbound. Each morning, we woke up to the sound of birds chirping and the sun peeking through the trees, eager to embark on a new adventure. The campsite itself was a sight to behold, surrounded by lush greenery and quaint wooden cabins that oozed charm. If you're planning a trip to Camping Vinkenhof, here are some tips and tricks to make the most of your stay:

1. Bring a sturdy tent- We experienced some unexpected rainfall during our trip, so it's better to be safe than sorry. Stock up on s'mores supplies - The campsite has a bonfire area where you can roast marshmallows and make s'mores under the starry sky. Go for a hike- The surrounding countryside is filled with picturesque trails that offer stunning views of the landscape. Visit the local markets- There are several nearby towns that host weekly markets selling fresh produce, handmade crafts, and other souvenirs. Be prepared to fall in love with nature's beauty- Camping Vinkenhof is a haven for nature lovers, and you'll be spellbound by the tranquility and serenity of the surroundings. As I pen down my review today, I can't help but feel grateful for the memories we created at Camping Vinkenhof. The campsite has left an indelible mark on us, reminding us of the beauty that lies beyond the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our stay there was a reminder to cherish every moment, and to be present in the here and now. It's a place where nature reigns supreme, and where you can escape the mundanity of routine and immerse yourself in its splendor. If you're looking for a camping experience that will leave you breathless, Camping Vinkenhof is the place to be. As I wrap up my review today, news reports have been flooding in about a sudden surge in COVID-19 cases. It's a sobering reminder of how fragile life can be and how important it is to cherish every moment we have. Camping Vinkenhof, with its serene surroundings and tranquil atmosphere, offers a respite from the chaos of everyday life, allowing you to disconnect and reconnect with nature's beauty. I highly recommend this campsite to anyone looking for a place where they can unwind, unplug, and connect with the natural world around them. It's a place where memories are made, and where you'll leave feeling rejuvenated and refreshed. In conclusion, Camping Vinkenhof is a magical haven that will leave you spellbound. Whether it's starry nights, shooting stars, or nature's beauty that draws you in, this campsite promises an experience that will stay with you long after your trip has ended. I hope my review has given you a glimpse into the wonders of Camping Vinkenhof and inspired you to embark on your own adventure. Until then, let's cherish every moment, be grateful for the little things in life, and most importantly, let's keep following safety protocols in light of the current situation.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-26 by Naomi Gross

Dear Alice,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Camping Vinkenhof with us. Your review has painted a picture-perfect image of this enchanting campsite that left us in awe. We're grateful to hear that our efforts to provide a peaceful and serene environment have not gone unnoticed, and we strive to maintain the high standards that you've mentioned. However, we'd like to present a different perspective on this issue. While it's true that Camping Vinkenhof is a haven for nature lovers, we believe that its charm lies in more than just its natural surroundings. It's also about the people who visit us and the memories they create during their stay. Our campsite offers a unique experience that allows visitors to connect with nature's beauty while also enjoying the comfort and amenities of our facilities. We have clean and well-maintained restrooms, hot showers, and a fully-equipped kitchen where guests can cook their meals. We also provide Wi-Fi access for those who need to stay connected during their trip. Moreover, our campsite is located in a quiet and peaceful area that's perfect for families with young children. The nearby towns offer plenty of activities and attractions for visitors of all ages, including museums, art galleries, and local markets. Our staff is always available to provide recommendations and assistance to our guests, ensuring that they have the best possible experience during their stay. We understand the current situation with regards to COVID-19 and the impact it's having on travel and tourism. We're taking all necessary precautions to ensure the safety and wellbeing of our guests and staff, including regular sanitation and disinfection procedures. We encourage all visitors to follow safety protocols, such as wearing masks and maintaining social distancing, during their stay. We appreciate your support and recommendations, Alice. Your review has been a true blessing for us, and we're honored to have had the pleasure of hosting you at Camping Vinkenhof. We hope that our response has provided some additional insights into what makes our campsite unique, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Naomi Gross
Camping Vinkenhof Management Team.

Platz für Camping

Camping
Branderhofer Weg 11, 52066 Aachen, Germany

GPS : 50.7619139, 6.1026332

Users reviews of Platz für Camping Aachen

Geuldal Camping 't

Camping
Gemeentebroek 13, 6231 RV Meerssen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.872536, 5.7710500000001

Users reviews of Geuldal Camping 't Aachen

Mini Camping aan de Beemden

Camping
Wissengrachtweg 65, 6336 TH Hulsberg, Netherlands

GPS : 50.8929155, 5.8711174

Users reviews of Mini Camping aan de Beemden Aachen

Camping Wesertal

Camping
Rue de l'Invasion 68, 4837 Baelen-Membach, Belgium

GPS : 50.6119505, 6.0117503

Users reviews of Camping Wesertal Aachen

Spa D'Or

Camping
Stockay, 4845 Sart-lez-Spa, Belgium

GPS : 50.507601, 5.9194441

Users reviews of Spa D'Or Aachen

Vakantie Voncken

Camping
Camerig 17, 6294 NB Vijlen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.772644, 5.9260420000001

Users reviews of Vakantie Voncken Aachen

Camping Hertogenwald

Camping
Oestraße 78, 4700 Eupen, Belgium

GPS : 50.6139878, 6.0183728

Users reviews of Camping Hertogenwald Aachen

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Olivia

I have visited countless campsites across Europe, but my recent trip to Camping Hertogenwald in Aachen has truly left a lasting impression on me. Not only did I manage to save a significant amount of money by choosing this camping site over the more expensive options in the area, but also the overall experience was absolutely outstanding. Initially, I needed to visit Aachen for a work-related conference that was being held at the city's magnificent cathedral. While I have been to Aachen before, I had never explored its surroundings in detail, and that is when I stumbled upon Camping Hertogenwald online. The location seemed perfect – close to the city center yet surrounded by lush greenery, making it an ideal spot for my wife and me to unwind after a long day of conferencing. The journey from the cathedral to the camping site was relatively easy, but I did encounter a minor setback when the train I was on got delayed due to engineering works. Thankfully, I had enough time in hand to make it to Camping Hertogenwald before sunset. As soon as I arrived, I could not help but marvel at the stunning scenery surrounding me – rolling hills, dense forests, and clear blue skies. The camping site itself was equally impressive, with spacious pitches for tents and caravans, clean facilities, and friendly staff who went above and beyond to ensure our comfort during our stay. One of the things that truly stood out about Camping Hertogenwald was its proximity to some of Aachen's most popular attractions. In fact, we decided to take a day trip to the nearby town of Monschau, which is famous for its picturesque old town and stunning castle ruins. The journey from the camping site to Monschau was breathtaking – winding roads through dense forests, quaint villages with colorful houses, and fields filled with wildflowers. It felt like we had stepped back in time as we explored Monschau's medieval streets and admired its historic buildings. However, our trip to Monschau also highlighted a significant issue that I feel compelled to address – the lack of adequate parking facilities at some of these popular tourist destinations. We ended up having to park quite a distance from the town center, which meant a long walk in scorching heat. It was frustrating to see so many empty spaces in nearby car parks being reserved for cars with handicap permits or municipal officials, leaving regular visitors like us struggling to find a spot. I sincerely hope that authorities will take note of this issue and address it as soon as possible, as it not only creates inconvenience but also puts a dent in the overall tourist experience. In conclusion, my stay at Camping Hertogenwald was nothing short of spectacular, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Aachen. The site's natural beauty, modern amenities, and convenient location make it an ideal choice for campers looking to escape the hustle and bustle of city life while still being within easy reach of popular tourist destinations. And while my experience at Monschau did leave me feeling frustrated, I am confident that Camping Hertogenwald's outstanding service and hospitality will continue to make it a top choice for travelers seeking an authentic camping experience in Germany.

Den Driesch

Camping
Heunsbergerweg 1, 6301 BN Valkenburg, Netherlands

GPS : 50.859683, 5.831497

Users reviews of Den Driesch Aachen

Camping De Oosterdriessen

Camping
Oosterweg 1A, 6245 LC Eijsden, Netherlands

GPS : 50.7999767, 5.7063648

Users reviews of Camping De Oosterdriessen Aachen

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-02-27 by Madeline

I once had an experience at Camping De Oosterdriessen in Eijsden, which I can still recall vividly. At the time, I was not a citizen of Cologne but just visiting this beautiful part of the world. The campground is situated near several famous landmarks and attractions that add to its charm and appeal.

Upon arriving at the campground, I was greeted by lush greenery and picturesque surroundings. The well-maintained grounds were clean and spacious, making it easy for me to find a spot to set up my tent. As someone who enjoys exploring new places on foot, I appreciated the proximity of the campground to various hiking trails and cycling routes that took me through the stunning countryside and along winding riverbanks.

One particular hike I took led me to an old stone mill, which had been converted into a cozy little café serving delicious local cuisine. The owners were friendly and welcoming, offering me a warm cup of coffee as I admired the scenic view from their patio. This quaint spot became my go-to for breakfast during my stay at Camping De Oosterdriessen, where I indulged in freshly baked pastries and eggs cooked to perfection over an open fire.

Another highlight of my visit was a day trip to the nearby city of Maastricht. Known for its beautiful architecture, charming streets, and rich history, Maastricht had something for everyone. I spent hours exploring the cobbled alleys, admiring the medieval buildings, and popping into quaint shops selling unique souvenirs. The town square was always bustling with activity, from street performers to local markets showcasing fresh produce and handmade goods.

As a solo traveler, I found Camping De Oosterdriessen to be the perfect place for solitude and reflection. However, if you're looking for more social activities, the campground does offer various events throughout the season. I was lucky enough to attend an outdoor movie night where we snuggled up under blankets and watched a classic film projected onto a big screen under the stars.

Overall, my stay at Camping De Oosterdriessen was memorable and fulfilling. The combination of beautiful surroundings, friendly locals, and diverse experiences made for an unforgettable adventure. If you're planning a trip to this region of the Netherlands, I highly recommend giving this campground a try. You won't be disappointed!

Zum Jone-Bur

Camping
Grünentalstraße 36, 52156 Monschau, Germany

GPS : 50.56696, 6.26738

Users reviews of Zum Jone-Bur Aachen

Camping en Partycentrum Hitjesvijver

Camping
W. Barentszweg 101, 6413 TC Heerlen, Netherlands

GPS : 50.921207, 5.957282

Users reviews of Camping en Partycentrum Hitjesvijver Aachen

Camping le Moulin du Diable

Camping
Quarreux 2, 4920 Aywaille, Belgium

GPS : 50.4503989, 5.7387228

Users reviews of Camping le Moulin du Diable Aachen

Campingplatz Perlenau

Camping
Perlenau 2, 52156 Monschau, Germany

GPS : 50.543888, 6.2368186

Users reviews of Campingplatz Perlenau Aachen

Campings within entire Aachen region

Other stuff from Aachen:

Recently featured: