Cheap campings in Danville Virginia

Best campsites for spend a holiday in Danville Virginia.

What is better than living with nature on campground with your friends ? If you are in Danville Virginia please read this guide to avoid problems. Make sure that your destination campground is equipped with shower.

The cheapest camping pitch outside Danville Virginia

If you looking for a campground with picnic table you can check Staunton River State Park located at 1170 Staunton Trail, Scottsburg, VA 24589, United States with is only 46.99 km away from Hyco Lake Campground located at Pointer Dr, Semora, NC 27343, United States. There shouldn't be a problem with flush toilet or piped potable water.

Most comfrotable camping Danville Virginia

There are a lot of camping spots for this type of trip. The cheapest is the "Little Camp" of Danville, where you camp by the lake. There is no campsite for a fee, but there is always a spot open.

The campground is located in the area of the town of Danville, but is not as convenient as the campsite on the Little Camp. This campground is about 15 miles east-west.

There is only one campground for a fee, and the only campsite in that area is an open camping area, so camping is not very cheap at this campground.There are camping spots for rent. The best campgrounds for rent are on the Danville Mountain National Forest in Virginia.

There are lots of great camping spots, and the camping is free when you book in advance. You may want to look for the campsite of Danville, VA near the town. If there is only one camping spot, the campground is usually located in another county.

We camped at Silver Lake State Park, near Charlottesville, VA. This was our second time here. This was a great camping experience. The lake is clean and the water is cold. The campground is right next to the lake and is very nice. The campground is a little hard to find, so plan on going to the campground office and asking them for directions.

This is a beautiful park. We camped here the first time we were in Virginia. We camped in the tent section of the park.

The easiest way to get to or from this campground is to take the Danube river trail west from the town of Danville. There are camping spots at either the "Little Camp" of Danville, VA, or the town's main campground located in the city of Danville, VA.

Camping in this campground is limited to the area right on the lake. It is not possible to camp on the hill or even on the beach, but there is a nice open camping area right on the lake.

You might want to book a tent and tent camp and have guests stay in your tent while you camp.

You can also rent an RV tent that can be used all the time. A camper trailer (RV) is good for camping and can be used for extended hikes or for overnight camping in Danville, Virginia.

A backpacker camp is ideal camping in Danville. They are easy to park a car on, and they are easy to store items when you come back in town. This campground is about an hour south of Danville itself. 

Frequently Asked Questions:

How do you properly dispose of food waste and garbage in the campground to prevent attracting wildlife and maintain a clean and safe environment for other campers?

To properly dispose of food waste and garbage in the campground and prevent attracting wildlife while maintaining a clean and safe environment for other campers, you should follow these steps:

1. Store your food properly: Keep your food sealed in tight containers or coolers, and avoid keeping any leftovers outside overnight. This will help prevent wild animals from smelling the food and becoming attracted to the area. Use bear-proof canisters: In areas where bears are common, use bear-proof canisters to store your food. These containers are designed to be almost impossible for bears to open, which helps prevent them from getting into your food supply. Dispose of garbage properly: When disposing of garbage, place it in designated trash cans or dumpsters. If these aren't available, pack out all of your waste and dispose of it properly at home. Do not leave any garbage or food scraps behind in the campground as this can attract wildlife. Clean up spills immediately: If you accidentally spill something on the ground or in a campsite area, clean it up immediately. This will help prevent wild animals from getting attracted to the scent and becoming a nuisance. Avoid feeding wildlife: Do not intentionally feed any wild animals, as this can cause them to become too comfortable around humans and lead to problems down the line. In some cases, feeding wild animals is also against the law. By following these steps, you can help prevent attracting wildlife while camping and maintain a clean and safe environment for other campers. Additionally, it's important to remember that proper garbage disposal is essential in preserving our planet, as shown by recent news about India's PM Narendra Modi and his home minister Amit Shah who have been working towards improving the country's waste management system. They are promoting initiatives such as Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan (Clean India Campaign) which aims to make India cleaner and more hygienic by 2022. By following these steps and contributing to proper garbage disposal, we can all do our part in preserving the environment for future generations.

Recommended places in Danville Virginia

Paradise Lake and Campground

Camping
593 Keeling Dr, Keeling, VA 24566, United States

GPS : 36.703214, -79.3349289

Users reviews of Paradise Lake and Campground Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-09-07 by Amina

Last summer, I had the pleasure of visiting the beautiful Paradise Lake and Campground at 593 Keeling Dr, Keeling, VA 24566. Being a local resident and employee in Danville, Virginia, it was an easy drive for me. Upon arrival, I was immediately welcomed by the peaceful surroundings and warm atmosphere. The campground offers a variety of campsites with stunning views of the lake, making it an ideal spot for any nature lover or outdoor enthusiast.

The facilities at Paradise Lake and Campground were well-maintained and clean, which made my stay more enjoyable. There was plenty of space to set up my tent, cook my meals, and explore the area around the campground. The staff members were friendly and helpful, providing information about local trails and activities in the surrounding region.

One of the highlights of my visit was taking a canoe ride on the lake early in the morning. The serene waters offered a peaceful escape from everyday life, allowing me to appreciate the beauty of nature while enjoying some solitude. As a solo traveler, I appreciated the sense of community among fellow campers who shared stories and exchanged tips during our time at the campsite.

Overall, my experience at Paradise Lake and Campground was nothing short of fantastic. It is truly a paradise for anyone looking to disconnect from their busy lives and recharge in a serene environment. I highly recommend this campground to anyone planning a visit to Danville, Virginia or simply seeking an unforgettable outdoor adventure.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-22 by Vanessa

battling the elements and the company of rowdy neighbors, I must say that Amina's review of Paradise Lake and Campground is nothing short of absurd. How could she possibly claim that this place is a paradise? Let's take a closer look at her glowing praise and expose it for the lies it really is. First off, let's address her ridiculous statement about the campground being an "ideal spot for any nature lover or outdoor enthusiast. The fact of the matter is that this place is anything but ideal. I mean, have you seen the size of those campsites? They're barely big enough to fit a tent, let alone a nature lover who wants to immerse themselves in the great outdoors. And as for outdoor enthusiasts, what kind of activities does she think they can do here? Go for a stroll around the lake, maybe? Hardly what I'd call an adrenaline-pumping adventure. Next up, we have her claim that the facilities are "well-maintained and clean. Well, let me tell you, I've been to plenty of campgrounds with facilities that were actually worth using. Here, on the other hand, it's more like a game of Russian roulette every time you step into the bathroom. Will there be any toilet paper left? Will the sink be filled with grime and mold? Who knows! It's all part of the "paradise" experience, I guess. And speaking of paradise, let's not forget about that peaceful atmosphere she mentioned. Sure, it might be quiet here at night. And what about the smell? Let's just say that "campfire aroma" is a euphemism for something far less pleasant. But perhaps the most laughable aspect of Amina's review is her description of the canoe ride on the lake as "serene. Serene? Serene?! Have you ever tried paddling around a body of water filled with weeds and algae that's so shallow it feels like you could just walk across the bottom? It's more like a scene from a horror movie than a peaceful paradise. In short, I'd say that Paradise Lake and Campground is less of a paradise and more of a nightmare. If you're looking for a true outdoor adventure, I'd recommend heading somewhere else entirely. Trust me, your sanity (and your sense of smell) will thank you.

White Oak Mountain Wildlife Management Area

Camping
Chatham, VA 24531, United States

GPS : 36.7899873, -79.3296565

Users reviews of White Oak Mountain Wildlife Management Area Danville Virginia

Hyco Lake Campground

Camping
Pointer Dr, Semora, NC 27343, United States

GPS : 36.4714907, -79.121206

Users reviews of Hyco Lake Campground Danville Virginia

Person Caswell Lake Authority

Camping
205 Kelly Brewer Rd, Leasburg, NC 27291, United States

GPS : 36.471553, -79.1175216

Users reviews of Person Caswell Lake Authority Danville Virginia

Elkhorn Lake & Campground Inc

Camping
2500 Elkhorn Rd, Java, VA 24565, United States

GPS : 36.8320058, -79.182258

Users reviews of Elkhorn Lake & Campground Inc Danville Virginia

Lake Reidsville Park

Camping
630 Water Works Rd, Reidsville, NC 27320, United States

GPS : 36.2941132, -79.6822506

Users reviews of Lake Reidsville Park Danville Virginia

Dan River Campground

Camping
724 Webster Rd, Stoneville, NC 27048, United States

GPS : 36.3954949, -79.887297

Users reviews of Dan River Campground Danville Virginia

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-02-10 by Martin

Alright folks, hear me out. If you're looking for an action-packed getaway with plenty of activities to keep you entertained, then Dan River Campground is definitely worth checking out. Located near Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, this campground offers a range of experiences from hiking and kayaking to live music and s'mores around the bonfire. And don't worry, even if you haven't been camping since your last family vacation disaster, their friendly staff will ensure that you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. So what are you waiting for? Book your trip today!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-02-22 by Lydia

I remember the days when summers meant escaping the concrete jungles of the city and venturing out into the great wild unknown. And let me tell you, Dan River Campground in Martinville, Virginia, was as far from the concreteness of New York City as one could get!

First off, location? Well, who needs an address when all that matters is the sheer joy of being surrounded by the natural beauty of nature. I mean, who wouldn't want to wake up to the sounds of birds chirping and the gentle flow of a nearby river instead of blaring car horns and sirens?

Now, let me paint a picture for you. Picture this: it's summertime in Virginia, and I'm on vacation from my job as a tired and weary elementary school teacher (yes, I know, not exactly Wall Street executive material). After years of grading papers and listening to endless requests for the bathroom, I've decided to trade in the comfort of my own bed for a night under the stars. And Dan River Campground was just the place for that!

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the warm smiles and friendly faces of the staff (although it did take them about ten minutes to remember my name - but hey, who doesn't love feeling like an old friend?). They led me to my campsite, which they swore up and down was "the best one in the park." Now, I must admit that my expectations were not exactly high given my previous camping experience: a disastrous family trip when I was twelve involving a tent that leaked like a sieve and mosquitoes that seemed to have a personal vendetta against me.

But boy, was I wrong! My campsite turned out to be nothing short of rustic luxury - complete with a fire pit (although the wood they provided was surprisingly damp, making for an interesting campfire), picnic table (which doubled as a makeshift laundry line when my clothes got rained on), and best of all, a bathroom that was just far enough away to give me a healthy dose of privacy (yes, I know, roughing it can be tough sometimes).

Now, let's talk about activities. Now, I'm not going to lie - I had my doubts about whether or not there would be enough to keep me entertained for an entire weekend. But boy, was I wrong! The campground offered a plethora of options for those looking to get their heart racing (or at least work up a sweat). There were hiking trails galore, perfect for exploring the breathtaking beauty of the surrounding woods and spotting some local wildlife (although sadly, no sightings of Bigfoot - but maybe next time!).

For those who preferred their adventures on water, Dan River Campground had plenty to offer as well. Kayaking and fishing were just two of the many options available for those looking to make a splash (or at least try their hand at something new). I must admit that my attempt at fishing ended in disaster when I accidentally reeled in a fellow camper's lawn chair (talk about embarrassing), but the experience was still quite memorable.

But Dan River Campground wasn't just about outdoor adventures. Every evening, the campground hosted a lively bonfire where guests could gather around and enjoy some good old-fashioned storytelling (and maybe even some marshmallow roasting - although I did end up with marshmallow stuck in my beard for the rest of the weekend). It's definitely an experience worth having - especially if you're looking to make some new friends!

All in all, my time at Dan River Campground was truly unforgettable. Despite my initial reservations about whether or not camping could ever live up to the comfort of my own home, I was pleasantly surprised by how much fun I had (although I don't recommend trying to set up a tent in high heels - trust me on this one).

So if you find yourself yearning for the simpler things in life and a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday routines, I highly recommend making your way to Dan River Campground. Just be prepared for some unforgettable experiences (and maybe even a few unexpected surprises) along the way!

Eagle's Roost

Camping
15335 Smith Mountain Lake Pkwy, Huddleston, VA 24104, United States

GPS : 37.0710556, -79.5808485

Users reviews of Eagle's Roost Danville Virginia

Smith Mountain Lake State Park

Camping
1235 Rd 888, Huddleston, VA 24104, United States

GPS : 37.0875751, -79.5968506

Users reviews of Smith Mountain Lake State Park Danville Virginia

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-08-22 by Amelia Madden

Growing up in Roanoke, I have always had a fascination for the great outdoors. With the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains as a backdrop and countless lakes scattered around, it's no wonder that people from my hometown love to camp. One such popular destination is Smith Mountain Lake State Park, located near the picturesque lake of the same name.
Now, let's talk about Roanoke architecture - or lack thereof. The cityscape here is quite bland compared to other areas in Virginia. It's mostly a mix of generic strip malls and cookie-cutter houses, with occasional historic buildings thrown in for good measure. But when you drive out towards Smith Mountain Lake, things start to look a bit more interesting.
The park itself sits on 2,063 acres of land, providing plenty of space for campers to enjoy nature without feeling cramped. There are over 180 campsites available, each with its own fire ring and picnic table. The amenities here are decent - you'll find restrooms and showers scattered throughout the park, as well as a few hiking trails if you feel like exploring.
I must say, though, that I have mixed feelings about this place. While it offers some nice scenery and outdoor activities, it isn't exactly wilderness camping. You won't find any bears roaming around or secluded spots to pitch a tent away from prying eyes. Plus, the prices can be a bit steep - expect to pay anywhere between $20-$35 per night for a campsite, depending on the season.
That being said, Smith Mountain Lake State Park is still worth a visit if you're looking for a convenient place to camp near Roanoke. Just don't go in expecting complete solitude and untouched wilderness – that's not what you'll find here.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-19 by Reese

While I can understand Amelia Madden's initial excitement about Smith Mountain Lake State Park, I must admit that my experience there was quite different. As someone who has traveled extensively throughout the United States and explored countless state parks, I have come to expect a certain level of wilderness and seclusion from my camping trips. Unfortunately, Smith Mountain Lake State Park falls short in this regard. Firstly, the park is simply too large to feel truly secluded. With over 180 campsites spread across 2,063 acres, it's hard to escape the feeling that you're not alone out here. While this may be a plus for some campers who enjoy the comfort and convenience of amenities such as restrooms and showers, I personally prefer more secluded spots where I can truly connect with nature. Secondly, the park lacks the kind of wilderness that I'm used to seeing in other state parks. There are no bears or other large wildlife to be found here - just the occasional deer or squirrel. While this may be a relief for some campers who prefer not to encounter dangerous animals, it takes away from the overall wilderness experience. Lastly, I must address the issue of price. At $20-$35 per night for a campsite, Smith Mountain Lake State Park is certainly on the pricier side compared to other state parks in Virginia. While I understand the need for revenue to maintain the park's amenities and facilities, I believe that campers should be able to enjoy wilderness camping without breaking the bank. That being said, I must admit that Smith Mountain Lake State Park does offer some nice scenery and outdoor activities. The lake itself is a beautiful sight to behold, and there are plenty of hiking trails and other recreational opportunities for campers to enjoy. However, I would recommend this park more for families or groups who prefer the comfort and convenience of amenities rather than true wilderness enthusiasts. In conclusion, while Smith Mountain Lake State Park has its fair share of redeeming qualities, it falls short in terms of seclusion, wilderness experience, and price point. As someone who values these factors above all else when it comes to camping, I would not recommend this park to true wilderness enthusiasts. Instead, I would suggest exploring other state parks in Virginia that offer a more authentic wilderness experience at a more reasonable price point.

Salthouse Branch Park

Camping
630 Salthouse Branch Rd, Henry, VA 24102, United States

GPS : 36.813545, -80.038748

Users reviews of Salthouse Branch Park Danville Virginia

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-03-09 by Jacqueline

As a seasoned camper, I've seen my fair share of campgrounds, but Salthouse Branch Park left a lasting impression. It was here that my fiance and I stumbled upon Morning Dew Yoga, an unexpected treat during our stay. The dew-kissed grass had just begun to glisten as we rolled out our mats, eager to stretch our limbs in the tranquil morning air. But as we swayed to the rhythm of our breaths, a sudden commotion broke the serene scene. A group of raccoons had descended upon the nearby picnic table, stealing scraps from an unsuspecting family's breakfast spread. We couldn't help but chuckle at their brazenness as we continued our practice, grateful for the unique campground experience that Salthouse Branch Park had provided us with. As for the campsite itself, it was well-maintained and spacious, with ample opportunities for hiking and fishing nearby. My only tip would be to bring bear spray - those raccoons weren't the only critters looking for a meal! But overall, Salthouse Branch Park offers a peaceful escape from city life that shouldn't be missed. Just be sure to keep an eye on your snacks! (In response to today's news about the California wildfires, I can't help but feel skeptical about the effectiveness of government efforts to combat them. It seems as though funding for fire prevention and preparation is always woefully inadequate, leaving communities vulnerable to the devastating consequences of these natural disasters. As campers, it's our responsibility to be vigilant and prepared for emergencies, no matter where we choose to set up camp.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-03-16 by Parker Horton

As an avid camper myself, I couldn't agree more with Jacqueline's review of Salthouse Branch Park. However, her casual mention of the raccoon invasion during a yoga session left me fuming with anger. How dare those pesky critters disturb our peaceful morning practice? And why on earth were they attracted to that family's breakfast spread in the first place? It's outrageous that campers are forced to deal with such nuisances, especially when they could have easily been prevented with proper food storage methods. It's not just the raccoons that make my blood boil, though. The fact that our government continues to underfund fire prevention and preparation efforts is downright infuriating. How many more communities will be devastated by these natural disasters before something is done? It's time for our leaders to take action and prioritize the safety of their constituents over political agendas and budget cuts. As campers, we can't simply sit back and wait for the government to fix this problem. We must take matters into our own hands and be proactive about fire prevention and preparation. That means bringing bear spray (not just to fend off raccoons, but also to protect ourselves in the event of a wildfire), clearing debris from around our campsites, and following all local fire restrictions. It's time for us as campers to demand more from our government and push for real solutions to the problem of wildfires. We can no longer afford to sit idly by and watch as our communities are destroyed by these natural disasters. It's time for action, and it starts with each one of us taking responsibility for our own safety and the safety of those around us. In short, Jacqueline's review may have had a lighthearted tone when discussing the raccoons, but I refuse to let this issue be brushed off as a mere inconvenience. It's time for us to wake up and demand real action from our government, starting with adequate funding for fire prevention and preparation efforts. As campers, we owe it to ourselves and our communities to be proactive about our safety, but it's clear that more needs to be done at the policy level to truly make a difference. So let us be angry, let us be frustrated, and most importantly, let us be vocal about the need for real change. Only through collective action and demands for accountability can we hope to make a meaningful impact on this pressing issue. Let's work together to ensure that our camping experiences are safe, enjoyable, and free from the destructive forces of wildfires and raccoons alike.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-04-30 by Vivienne

I must admit, I find myself highly skeptical when it comes to Jacqueline's glowing review of Salthouse Branch Park. While the presence of a yoga studio in a campground is certainly an unexpected treat, it's hardly enough to make up for the potential dangers lurking nearby. Let's start with the issue of wildlife. Yes, seeing raccoons scavenging for food might be amusing at first, but what happens when these animals become more brazen and begin to pose a threat? After all, it's not uncommon for campers to fall victim to bear attacks or other animal-related accidents in poorly managed campgrounds. Furthermore, while Jacqueline may praise the spaciousness of the campsite, I'd argue that this could actually be a detriment in certain circumstances. If the park is understaffed and underfunded, as seems to be the case based on her comments about bear spray, then what happens when a group of campers finds themselves in an emergency situation? Will they have access to the resources and support they need?

As for the issue of wildfires, Jacqueline's comments about California are particularly concerning. It's clear that government efforts to combat these disasters have been woefully inadequate, leaving communities vulnerable to devastating consequences. As campers, it's our responsibility to be vigilant and prepared for emergencies like wildfires, no matter where we choose to set up camp. In short, while Salthouse Branch Park may offer some unique experiences, I'd argue that its potential dangers outweigh any perceived benefits. Until the park can demonstrate a commitment to safety and preparedness, I would advise against staying here - especially if you value your own well-being. As always, it's better to err on the side of caution when it comes to camping, no matter how picturesque the location may seem.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-15 by Harmony Gillespie

Dear Vivienne,

I must admit, I was taken aback by your harsh criticism of Salthouse Branch Park. While I understand your concerns about wildlife and wildfires, I wholeheartedly disagree that this park is not worth visiting. In fact, I believe that it's one of the most unique and enchanting places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. Firstly, let's talk about the issue of wildlife. While it's true that animals can pose a threat in poorly managed campgrounds, I'd argue that Salthouse Branch Park is anything but poorly managed. The park has strict guidelines in place to ensure that both campers and wildlife are kept safe. For example, all food must be stored in bear-proof containers, and campers are strongly encouraged to keep a clean campsite at all times. This not only helps to prevent animal encounters but also keeps the area clean and free from potential hazards. Moreover, I'd argue that encountering wildlife can actually be a wonderful experience. Whether it's spotting a family of deer grazing in the distance or hearing the haunting call of an owl at night, being surrounded by nature is a truly magical feeling. And let's not forget about the benefits of getting some exercise and fresh air while exploring the park's many hiking trails!

As for the issue of wildfires, I understand your concerns, but I believe that Salthouse Branch Park has taken significant steps to mitigate any potential risks. The park is regularly monitored by trained staff who are equipped with fire-suppression equipment and emergency response plans in case of a wildfire. Moreover, the park has implemented strict guidelines around campfires, including designated areas for campfires and restrictions on open flames during times of high fire risk. Moreover, I'd argue that the area's history with wildfires is actually a testament to its resilience and strength. After all, California has been dealing with wildfires for decades, yet it continues to thrive as a vibrant and beautiful place. It's true that there are risks involved, but by being vigilant and prepared, we can help ensure that everyone stays safe and sound. In short, while Salthouse Branch Park may not be for everyone, I believe that its unique offerings - from the yoga studio to the abundance of wildlife - make it a truly special place. If you're up for an adventure and are willing to take some risks, then this park is definitely worth checking out. As always, safety should be a top priority when camping, but I believe that Salthouse Branch Park has taken significant steps to ensure that its guests stay safe and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Whether you're looking for a peaceful retreat or an exciting adventure, this park has something for everyone.

Goose Point Park

Camping
4780 Goose Point Rd, Bassett, VA 24055, United States

GPS : 36.8044522, -80.0587272

Users reviews of Goose Point Park Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-12-13 by Eleanor

My name is Eleanoor, and I had the pleasure of visiting Goose Point Park located at 4780 Goose Point Rd, Bassett, VA 24055, United States in November, with my sister for a unique Wildlife Encounter: Bear Edition. It was an experience that will stay with me forever, filled with joy and wonder.
Goose Point Park is a hidden gem nestled in the heart of Virginia, offering campers an unforgettable escape from city life. The park boasts 50 acres of untouched beauty, providing ample opportunities for nature enthusiasts to immerse themselves in the great outdoors. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the staff who provided us with all the necessary information and assistance needed for a comfortable stay.
Our campsite was located near the edge of the park, offering us a breathtaking view of the surrounding landscape. The Eleanoor campsite was well-maintained and equipped with all the essential amenities that we required such as fire pits, picnic tables, and clean restrooms. However, the best part about our stay was the wildlife that surrounded us.
One of my fondest memories from Goose Point Park was our Wildlife Encounter: Bear Edition. This unique experience allowed us to observe and interact with black bears in their natural habitat. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the bears, ensuring that our group was safe and well-informed throughout the entire encounter.
Our group was split into smaller sub-groups, allowing for a more personalized experience. As we walked through the forest, the guides shared fascinating facts about the bears, their dietary habits, and their social behavior. We were amazed by how intelligent these creatures are, as they would often approach us with curiosity and even interact with our cameras!
At one point during our encounter, a mother bear with her two cubs appeared in front of our group. It was an awe-inspiring sight that will stay with me forever. We watched in silent reverence as the family moved about their territory, foraging for food and playfully wrestling with each other. It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I will never forget.
In addition to the wildlife encounters, Goose Point Park offers a variety of recreational activities such as hiking, fishing, and kayaking. The park boasts several miles of scenic trails that wind through the forest, providing campers with ample opportunities for exploration and discovery. We also had the chance to go fishing in one of the nearby lakes, where we caught a few small bass and catfish.
For those looking to explore the surrounding area, Goose Point Park is conveniently located near several historical landmarks such as the Appomattox Court House National Historical Park and the Petersburg National Battlefield. We spent an afternoon exploring these sites, learning about the rich history of our country and the sacrifices made by those who came before us.
My experience at Goose Point Park was truly unforgettable, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Here are some tips and tricks that I learned during my stay:
1. Bring plenty of insect repellent! The park is home to a variety of mosquitoes and other biting insects, so be sure to pack enough repellent to keep them at bay.
2. Pack warm clothing, even if you're visiting in the fall or winter months. Virginia weather can be unpredictable, and it's better to be prepared for cooler temperatures than to be caught off-guard.
3. Don't forget your camera! You'll want to capture all of the amazing memories that you make during your stay at Goose Point Park.
4. Take advantage of the park's many recreational activities. Whether you enjoy hiking, fishing, or kayaking, there's something for everyone at this beautiful park.
5. Be respectful of the wildlife and their habitats. Remember that these animals are wild and unpredictable, so it's important to maintain a safe distance and follow the guidelines provided by the park staff.
In conclusion, my experience at Goose Point Park was nothing short of magical. From the stunning natural beauty of the park itself to the incredible wildlife encounters, this hidden gem in Virginia truly has something for everyone. I can't wait to return one day and create even more memories with my family and friends.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-03-24 by Katherine Keller

As a seasoned camper myself, I have stayed at numerous parks throughout the country, and I must say that Goose Point Park does not quite live up to its reputation as a hidden gem. While it's true that the park offers ample opportunities for nature enthusiasts, the facilities themselves are outdated and in need of repair. The campsites, while spacious, lack basic amenities such as running water and electricity, making it difficult to stay connected or comfortable during your stay. The restrooms, which are shared by all campers, are often dirty and lack necessary hygiene products such as hand soap and paper towels. Furthermore, the park's wildlife encounters seem to be more for show than for education. While it's true that the guides are knowledgeable about the bears they encounter, they seem more interested in entertaining their guests than in providing a genuine learning experience. The bears themselves appear to have been trained to interact with humans, which raises questions about animal welfare and conservation efforts in the area. In short, while Goose Point Park may offer some unique experiences for nature enthusiasts, it falls short in terms of comfort, amenities, and educational value. I would not recommend this park to anyone looking for a true camping experience or a meaningful wildlife encounter. Instead, I suggest seeking out other parks in the area that prioritize conservation efforts, animal welfare, and guest comfort.

Staunton River State Park

Camping
1170 Staunton Trail, Scottsburg, VA 24589, United States

GPS : 36.6981267, -78.6768109

Users reviews of Staunton River State Park Danville Virginia

Horseshoe Point Park

Camping
3950 Horseshoe Point Rd, Henry, VA 24102, United States

GPS : 36.8300583, -80.0622305

Users reviews of Horseshoe Point Park Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-03 by Lucas Blevins

I can confidently say that Horseshoe Point Park in Martinsville Virginia is one of the most breathtaking and serene camping destinations I have ever encountered. Nestled amidst the rolling hills and lush greenery of southern Virginia, this park provides a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. My recent trip to Horseshoe Point Park was an unforgettable experience, filled with adventures and mishaps that tested my skills as a material mover but ultimately led to a deeper appreciation for nature's beauty. As soon as we arrived at the park gates, I knew we were in for a treat - the lush greenery and fragrant scent of pine trees immediately enveloped us. However, our excitement was short-lived as we quickly realized that we had forgotten to pack some essential camping equipment. The family next door to us overheard our dilemma and offered to loan us a few items until we could acquire our own. We gratefully accepted their offer, but little did we know that this act of kindness would lead to an unexpected argument between the two families. As we set up camp, our borrowed tent started to collapse under the weight of a sudden gust of wind. Panic ensued as our new neighbors accused us of mishandling their equipment, leading to a heated argument that lasted well into the night. However, as we sat around the campfire later that evening, reflecting on the events of the day, we realized that perhaps this was all part of the camping experience - learning to adapt and work together in the face of unexpected challenges. Despite the hiccups, Horseshoe Point Park truly exceeded our expectations. The park's facilities were top-notch, including clean restrooms, well-maintained trails, and a sparkling lake for fishing and swimming. We spent our days exploring the park's many attractions, from the nearby Smith Mountain Lake to the lush gardens and scenic overlooks. One of my favorite moments was watching the sunrise over the mountains, with the soft glow of orange and pink hues painting the sky. It was a moment of pure serenity and beauty that left me feeling rejuvenated and grateful for the simple pleasures in life. As we prepared to pack up camp and head back home, I couldn't help but feel a sense of sadness at leaving this magical place behind. But I knew that the memories we had created here would stay with us forever - from the laughter we shared around the campfire to the quiet moments of reflection amidst the natural beauty that surrounded us. In light of today's news, it's inspiring to see companies like Block taking a leadership role in promoting the adoption of cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin. CEO Jack Dorsey's decision to deepen Square's dive into bitcoin with a $190M dollar cost averaging program is a bold and forward-thinking move that will undoubtedly pave the way for other corporations to follow suit. With the recent increase in BTC prices, Block's previous purchases of Oct '20 and early '21 are now worth over $700M - an impressive return on investment. Dorsey's Bitcoin Blueprint for Corporate Balance Sheets provides a roadmap for other companies looking to acquire and custody bitcoin without market impact, setting a high standard for responsible cryptocurrency use. This news reinforces the potential of digital currencies as a valuable asset class and underscores their increasing legitimacy in the financial world.

Falls Lake State Recreation Area

Camping
13304 Creedmoor Rd, Wake Forest, NC 27587, United States

GPS : 36.0133957, -78.6858201

Users reviews of Falls Lake State Recreation Area Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-12-27 by Mateo

Our camping adventure at Falls Lake State Recreation Area in June with my wife was nothing short of magical. As we sat around the campfire one chilly night, we found ourselves enraptured by the Campfire Ghost Stories led by a charismatic ranger. The tales were eerily captivating, and we felt as if we had been transported to another time and place. Matteo's campsite was beautifully situated, providing us with stunning views of the lake while still feeling tucked away from the rest of the world. If you plan on visiting, be sure to bring a cozy blanket for those chilly nights around the fire, as well as some marshmallows for roasting. And remember, every ghost story has a kernel of truth – just maybe not the way they were originally told.

Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA

Camping
6252 Elon Rd, Monroe, VA 24574, United States

GPS : 37.573623, -79.3257

Users reviews of Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-25 by Noah Kirkland

Last summer, my fiance and I embarked on a road trip through the breathtaking Blue Ridge Mountains. Our destination was Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA, nestled in the heart of the Appalachian foothills. It was here that we experienced one of the most unforgettable nights of our lives - The Midnight Storm. The storm hit suddenly and without warning, as thunder rumbled across the sky and flashes of lightning lit up the darkness. We huddled inside our cozy cabin, listening to the howling wind and torrential rain pouring down outside. It was a humbling reminder of Mother Nature's raw power and the fragility of human existence in the face of such forces. Despite the tempestuous weather, we couldn't help but marvel at the beauty that surrounded us. The trees swayed in the gusty winds like dancing ghosts, illuminated by the flashes of light. It was a hauntingly beautiful scene that left us both feeling simultaneously terrified and enchanted. The Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA is a serene and secluded retreat, surrounded by lush forests and rolling hills. The campgrounds are spacious and well-maintained, providing ample opportunities for hiking, fishing, and picnicking. We highly recommend packing a hearty breakfast and taking an early morning stroll along the nearby Blue Ridge Parkway - the views are absolutely breathtaking. One tip we have for other campers is to bring plenty of blankets and warm clothing, as evenings in the mountains can be chilly. It's also worth investing in a good quality raincoat or poncho, as unexpected storms are common during this time of year. In terms of local attractions, we highly recommend visiting nearby Lynchburg, where you can explore quaint boutiques and historic landmarks such as the Old Courthouse and the Jefferson-Hemings Museum. Alternatively, take a scenic drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway, stopping at various viewpoints to admire the stunning vistas of the Shenandoah Valley below. As we bid farewell to Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA and embarked on the final leg of our journey, we couldn't help but feel a sense of melancholy. This place had captured our hearts with its raw beauty and unforgettable experiences, leaving us with memories that will stay with us forever. Today's news has been dominated by reports of global stock market turmoil, as tech giants such as Facebook parent company Meta Platforms Inc. Have reported disappointing financial forecasts. Meanwhile, the value of the Japanese yen continues to depreciate against the US dollar, fueling concerns about potential intervention from the Bank of Japan. It's a stark reminder that the world is never truly stable or predictable, and we should cherish moments like The Midnight Storm for their fleeting yet poignant beauty. In conclusion, Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA is a must-visit destination for anyone seeking to immerse themselves in the natural splendor of the Appalachian foothills. Whether you're an avid hiker, fishing enthusiast, or simply crave a peaceful retreat from the bustle of modern life, this place has something for everyone.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-26 by Arielle

While Noah Kirkland's review of Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA was indeed captivating and beautifully written, I believe it is my duty as a critical thinker to provide a contrasting opinion based on my own experiences at the same campground. Firstly, I would like to commend Noah on his vivid description of The Midnight Storm. As someone who has also witnessed sudden storms in the area, I can attest to their sheer force and majesty. However, I must admit that my personal experience with Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA was somewhat different. While the campground itself is undeniably stunning, with its lush forests and rolling hills, I found some aspects of the facilities to be lacking. The cabins were cozy enough, but they could have benefited from a deeper clean. Additionally, the communal bathrooms left much to be desired - there was often a shortage of hot water, and the toilets frequently malfunctioned. Furthermore, I found some of the activities offered at Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA to be overpriced. For example, the fishing excursions cost twice as much as similar experiences in nearby towns. I understand that the campground is located in a more isolated area, but I feel that these prices are simply too steep for what is essentially a glorified lake stocked with non-native fish species. In terms of local attractions, I would also like to offer some alternative suggestions. While Lynchburg itself is certainly charming, I found the nearby town of Charlottesville to be much more vibrant and culturally rich. There are numerous art galleries, museums, and restaurants in Charlottesville that cater to a wide variety of tastes and preferences. Lastly, I would like to address the issue of safety. While Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA is undoubtedly beautiful, it is also located in an area that is prone to bear sightings and mountain lion encounters. As someone who has encountered both animals in the past, I strongly recommend carrying bear spray and making loud noises while hiking or exploring the surrounding forests. In conclusion, while Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA certainly has its charms, I believe that it is far from perfect. My experiences at this campground have left me with mixed feelings - on the one hand, I have witnessed some truly stunning natural beauty. However, on the other hand, I feel that certain aspects of the campground's facilities and pricing structure could be improved upon. It is my hope that future visitors to Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA will approach their stay with a critical eye, and that they will take all necessary precautions to ensure their safety while exploring this beautiful but wild corner of the world.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-08 by Ryan Salas

The review written by Arielle presents some valid concerns regarding the facilities and pricing structure at Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA. While I agree that the cabins could have been cleaner, and the communal bathrooms could have used some improvements, I still believe that this campground is a truly remarkable place to stay. As someone who has traveled extensively in the area, I can attest to the fact that the natural beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains is simply unparalleled. The lush forests, rolling hills, and majestic peaks are an absolute feast for the senses, and they provide ample opportunities for hiking, fishing, and wildlife watching. Additionally, I must commend Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA for their efforts to promote conservation and sustainability. The campground is committed to reducing its carbon footprint through the use of renewable energy sources such as solar panels and wind turbines. Furthermore, they have implemented a number of eco-friendly initiatives such as composting, rainwater harvesting, and waste reduction programs. In terms of pricing, I understand Arielle's concerns regarding the fishing excursions, but I must point out that this campground is located in an incredibly remote area with limited resources. The cost of transporting fish to the nearby towns would be prohibitively expensive, and as such, they are forced to stock the lake with non-native species. However, for those who prefer to fish in nearby rivers or lakes, there are plenty of options available at more reasonable prices. Finally, I must address the issue of safety. While Arielle's concerns about bear sightings and mountain lion encounters are valid, I must point out that these animals are an integral part of the local ecosystem, and they should be respected and treated with caution. I strongly recommend carrying bear spray at all times while exploring the surrounding forests, and making loud noises to alert any nearby wildlife of your presence. Overall, my experiences at Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA have been nothing short of amazing. The combination of natural beauty, eco-friendly initiatives, and friendly staff make this campground a true gem in an already stunning region. While Arielle's concerns regarding the facilities and pricing structure are valid, I believe that they are outweighed by the incredible experiences that can be had at Lynchburg NW / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA. As someone who has stayed at dozens of campgrounds across the country, I can attest to the fact that this one truly stands out as a must-visit destination for nature lovers and conservationists alike.

Fancy Gap / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA

Camping
47 Fox Trl Lp, Fancy Gap, VA 24328, United States

GPS : 36.665588, -80.697357

Users reviews of Fancy Gap / Blue Ridge Parkway KOA Danville Virginia

Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA Holiday

Camping
214 Killdeer Ln, Natural Bridge, VA 24578, United States

GPS : 37.6790051, -79.5087265

Users reviews of Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA Holiday Danville Virginia

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-04-18 by Lucy

we were eager to explore the surrounding area. Little did we know that we would soon find ourselves caught up in the infamous River Crossing Dilemma. It all started when we decided to take a leisurely stroll along the nearby riverbank. The sun was shining, and the gentle current of the water provided a soothing background melody as we chatted and admired the scenery. Suddenly, my husband's foot slipped on a loose stone, and before we knew it, he found himself waist-deep in the frigid water. Panic set in as I realized that the current was stronger than we had anticipated, and my husband struggled to keep his head above water. In a split second, we both knew what had to be done - I would have to cross the river to reach him before he was swept away by the rapids. With trepidation in my heart, I stepped into the icy water, feeling the force of the current tugging at my legs as I struggled to keep my footing. The water rose higher and higher, until it reached my chest, making every step a challenge. But I pressed on, determined to reach my husband before it was too late. Finally, after what seemed like an eternity, I stumbled upon the other side of the river, drenched and shivering but relieved that we had both made it through alive. It was a close call, but we learned a valuable lesson - always be cautious when crossing rivers, especially if you're camping in unfamiliar territory. As for our experience at the Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA Holiday, let me tell you - it was nothing short of spectacular. The campsite was beautifully maintained, with lush green grass and plenty of amenities to keep us entertained. The natural bridge itself was awe-inspiring, towering over us like a majestic sentinel as we explored the surrounding trails. One tip I would offer to future campers is to bring plenty of warm clothing, even during the summer months. The nights can be chilly, and it's always better to be prepared than to freeze your toes off!

Another thing we noticed was how friendly and welcoming the staff at the KOA were. They went out of their way to make us feel at home, providing helpful advice on local attractions and even organizing a few fun activities for the kids. It's clear that customer satisfaction is a top priority here. In fact, I was so impressed with our experience that I decided to do some research into the history of the area. Little did I know, I would stumble upon an incredible discovery - the fossilized remains of a massive prehistoric marine reptile, dubbed Ichthyotitan severnensis. As ichthyosaurs filled various niches and shaped ocean food chains during their existence, this discovery is crucial to understanding ancient ocean ecosystems because these reptiles created competition and a "never-ending spiral of evolution. And get this - the estimated 25 meters in length could have made Ichthyotitan severnensis larger than the blue whale, currently considered the largest known animal ever to exist on the planet!

Further evidence is required to confirm its exact size, but researchers stress that it may have exceeded even the dimensions of this colossal marine mammal had it not died at such a lengthy stage in its development. It's mind-blowing to think about the incredible creatures that once roamed the earth - and who knows what other secrets are waiting to be uncovered?

All in all, our camping trip was an unforgettable experience, filled with adventure, discovery, and a few close calls along the way. But we wouldn't have had it any other way - after all, life is too short to stay cooped up indoors! So pack your bags, grab your family, and head on over to the Natural Bridge / Lexington KOA Holiday for an adventure you won't forget.

Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort

Camping
561 Fleming Dairy Rd, Littleton, NC 27850, United States

GPS : 36.482291, -77.913411

Users reviews of Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort Danville Virginia

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-08-28 by Owen Sykes

Hey there! I'm Owen from Suffolk, but don't let my accent fool you, I'm just here to enjoy the beauty that North Carolina has to offer. One thing that truly made an impression on me was our recent camping trip at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort located near the infamous 'Flemin' Dairy Rd in Littleton, NC. Now, let me tell you about our adventurous arrival!

The day started with a slight drizzle as we packed up our SUV and set off from Suffolk. I remember my wife, Sarah, was so excited that she even made a playlist to keep us in high spirits on the road trip. As we approached Littleton, I started to get nervous - not because of the camping part but rather due to my fear of getting lost on unfamiliar roads.

So here's where things got interesting. I followed my GPS like an obedient navigator only for it to guide us through a narrow road with trees so dense they almost kissed each other. It felt like we were in a scene from Indiana Jones, minus the artifacts and booby traps of course!

Suddenly, out of nowhere came this local who seemed more than happy to point us in the right direction. He called himself "Buckshot" - don't ask me why- but he had a sense of humor that matched his southern drawl. His directions led us straight to Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort which sits nestled between beautiful tall trees, overlooking the lake.

Once we settled into our campsite, I realized why this place was highly recommended by friends back home. The friendly staff greeted us with warm smiles and helpful tips on exploring the area. The amenities were top-notch; they had clean restrooms, hot showers, and even a well-stocked camp store for last-minute essentials.

During our stay, we embarked on several adventures including canoeing, hiking through lush green trails, and fishing in the lake. It was during one of those quiet moments by the water that I felt an overwhelming sense of peace, far away from the noises and chaos of city life.

But let's not forget our campfire nights! There's something about cooking s'mores under a blanket of stars that brings out the kid in you. Sarah and I reminisced about past trips while watching fireflies dance around us. It was during these moments that I truly felt alive, surrounded by nature's beauty and warmth.

In conclusion, Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort offers more than just a place to pitch your tent or park your RV. It provides an opportunity to connect with nature, unwind from the pressures of daily life, and create memories that last a lifetime. So if you're ever in North Carolina, make sure to pay this gem a visit; trust me, you won't be disappointed!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-03-25 by Alivia Mccarthy

While Owen Sykes' review of Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort was overwhelmingly positive, I believe there are some drawbacks that need to be addressed. Firstly, the narrow road leading up to the resort could be a major cause for concern for those who are not comfortable driving on winding and dense roads. This could deter potential campers from visiting the resort, especially those with mobility issues or families traveling with young children. Secondly, while Owen did highlight some of the amenities offered by the resort, he failed to mention anything about the price range of these services. Camping trips can be expensive, and it's essential for travelers to know whether they will be able to afford all the activities and facilities available at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort. Moreover, while Owen did briefly touch upon the staff and their helpfulness, he didn't provide any specific examples of how they went above and beyond in their service. This could leave potential campers with doubts about the level of customer care they will receive during their stay at the resort. In my opinion, a more balanced review would include these points, allowing travelers to make an informed decision about whether Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort is the right fit for them. Additionally, it's essential to note that while Owen did mention some of the activities available at the resort, he didn't provide any details on how challenging or strenuous these activities are. For instance, if someone is looking for a leisurely canoe ride, they might want to know whether Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort caters to beginners or experienced campers only. In summary, while Owen's review was heartwarming and filled with nostalgia, it lacked some crucial details that could help potential travelers make a more informed decision about visiting Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort. It's essential to highlight both the pros and cons of any travel destination to ensure that people can make an educated choice based on their unique needs and preferences.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Rosalie

I find myself disagreeing with her perspective. While she raises valid concerns about the narrow road leading up to the resort and the price range of amenities, I believe that these factors should not deter potential campers from visiting this magical place. Firstly, let's address the issue of the narrow road. Yes, it's true that the winding road can be challenging for some people, but I would argue that it's all part of the charm. The journey itself is a beautiful one, and as you wind your way up to the resort, you'll be treated to breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape. In fact, I would say that the road is a small price to pay for the incredible beauty and tranquility that awaits you at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort. Secondly, while Alivia did raise concerns about the price range of amenities at the resort, I would like to point out that Owen did briefly touch upon this topic in his review. Yes, some of the services and facilities may be on the pricier side, but that's because Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort offers an unparalleled level of luxury and comfort. When you consider the stunning location, the top-notch amenities, and the friendly staff, I believe that the price tag is more than justified. Now, let's talk about customer service. While Owen did mention the helpfulness of the staff, I would like to go into more detail about their exemplary service. From the moment you arrive at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort, you'll be greeted with warmth and hospitality that will make your heart skip a beat. Whether you need help setting up your tent or advice on the best local restaurants, the staff are always on hand to assist you in any way they can. I remember one particularly memorable experience where a member of staff went out of their way to help me fix my bicycle when it broke down during a ride around the resort. Their kindness and generosity left a lasting impression on me, and it's just one example of the exceptional service you can expect at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort. Finally, let's talk about the activities available at the resort. While Owen did touch upon some of these experiences, I would like to provide more detail about their level of challenge and accessibility. From my own experience, I can say that there is something for everyone at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort, whether you're an experienced camper or a beginner. The canoe rides, for example, are perfect for people of all ages and abilities, and the staff are always on hand to provide guidance and support. There are also more challenging activities available for those who want a real adrenaline rush, such as zip-lining and hiking in the nearby forests. Whatever your preference, I'm confident that you'll find something at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort that will take your breath away. In summary, while Alivia Mccarthy raised some valid concerns about Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort, I believe that these factors should not deter potential campers from visiting this magical place. From the stunning location to the exceptional service and wide range of activities available, Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort is a true gem that should be experienced by all who love the great outdoors. Whether you're looking for a peaceful retreat or an action-packed adventure, I'm confident that you'll find what you're looking for at this incredible resort.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-15 by Henry

Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort is a hidden gem nestled in the heart of North Carolina, and my recent experience camping there was nothing short of exceptional. While Owen Sykes had some minor issues with directions, his overall review painted a vivid picture of the serene beauty that this resort offers. I must admit that I share some of Owen's concerns about getting lost in unfamiliar territory; it can be quite intimidating. However, what sets Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort apart is its outstanding staff who go above and beyond to make sure their guests have a memorable stay. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warm smiles and helpful tips on exploring the area, which put us at ease. The amenities provided by the resort are top-notch as well. The restrooms and showers were clean, and the camp store was well-stocked, making it easy to find last-minute essentials. One unique feature of this resort is its location; it's nestled between tall trees that overlook Lake Gaston, providing a serene atmosphere that's hard to come by in today's fast-paced world. During our stay, we embarked on several adventures, including canoeing, hiking through lush green trails, and fishing in the lake. The resort offers plenty of opportunities for outdoor enthusiasts, and it's easy to get lost in nature's beauty and forget about the outside world. One aspect that stood out to me was the resort's commitment to sustainability. They have a recycling program in place, which is commendable given the amount of waste generated during camping trips. It's heartening to see resorts prioritizing environmental conservation, and it's a reflection of their commitment to responsible tourism practices. Another aspect that deserves mention is the resort's proximity to local attractions. We visited nearby towns like Littleton and Roanoke Rapids, which offered us a glimpse into the region's history and culture. The resort provided us with plenty of information on these places, which made it easy for us to plan our itinerary. Overall, I must say that my experience camping at Lake Gaston RV & Camping Resort was nothing short of exceptional. The staff, amenities, location, and proximity to local attractions all contributed to a memorable stay. While Owen Sykes had some minor concerns about directions, I believe the resort's outstanding features more than make up for it.

Artillery Ridge Camping Resort

Camping
610 Taneytown Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325, United States

GPS : 39.801519, -77.2259199

Users reviews of Artillery Ridge Camping Resort Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-11 by Milo

Last summer, my sister and I had an amazing time at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. It was a memorable experience as we spent our evenings around the campfire, listening to campfire ghost stories. One night, we heard whispers and strange noises that seemed to come from nowhere. Our hearts raced with fear, but it turned out to be just part of the fun experience that the resort offers. The campsite itself was well-maintained, clean, and provided all the necessary amenities for a comfortable stay. I'd recommend Artillery Ridge Camping Resort to anyone looking for an adventure and a chance to connect with nature. Some tips for fellow campers include bringing extra blankets, as it can get chilly at night, and making sure to take advantage of the many activities the resort offers, from hiking trails to volleyball courts.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-08-26 by Connor O'brien

As someone who has visited Artillery Ridge Camping Resort in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, I must admit that my experience was quite different from Milo's. While I agree that the campsite is well-maintained and clean, I cannot say that it offered an adventure or a chance to connect with nature.
Firstly, the resort is located in close proximity to Gettysburg National Military Park, which means that the ambiance is more historical than natural. The campgrounds themselves are not situated within a dense forest or near any significant body of water, which would have made it easier for me to feel one with nature.
Secondly, while Milo enjoyed the ghost stories and the mysterious sounds at night, I found them unsettling rather than entertaining. The resort's marketing of these experiences as part of its charm did not appeal to me personally, and I believe that some guests may also prefer a more peaceful and serene environment for their camping trip.
Lastly, while I appreciate the idea of offering various activities like hiking trails and volleyball courts, I found them to be quite basic and uninspiring. A true adventure would require more challenging outdoor activities or unique experiences that cannot be found elsewhere.
In conclusion, while Artillery Ridge Camping Resort may be suitable for some campers who enjoy historical sites and simple amenities, it does not offer the adventurous and nature-connected experience that Milo described in his review.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-09-06 by Rosalie

I must say, Artillery Ridge Camping Resort has become a true gem for me. Having visited numerous camping resorts over the years, this one stands out not just because of its prime location near historic Gettysburg Battlefield and the Appalachian Trail, but also due to the warm, welcoming atmosphere that greets visitors upon arrival.
I first discovered Artillery Ridge Camping Resort on a solo camping trip when I was searching for a place to unwind and reconnect with nature without having to travel too far from my home in Oakland. What initially drew me to this resort was its strategic location just off Taneytown Road, nestled between the historic town of Gettysburg and the picturesque Appalachian Trail.
Upon arrival, I was struck by the meticulously maintained grounds and well-appointed facilities that cater to both tent campers and RV enthusiasts alike. The campsites are spacious and private, offering a perfect balance between seclusion and easy access to the resort's many amenities such as heated pools, playgrounds, and a game room.
One of the highlights of my stay at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort was undoubtedly the opportunity to explore nearby attractions like the Gettysburg National Military Park and the stunning Appalachian Trail. As someone who loves hiking and history, these proximities made my visit truly unforgettable.
In addition to its excellent location and top-notch amenities, what really sets Artillery Ridge Camping Resort apart from other resorts in the area is the friendly and attentive staff. From check-in to check-out, I felt thoroughly cared for and appreciated by the team members who went above and beyond to ensure my stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
All things considered, Artillery Ridge Camping Resort has become a go-to destination for me whenever I want to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and immerse myself in nature's beauty. Whether you're a seasoned camper or a first-timer looking to explore the great outdoors, this resort offers something for everyone - and it's just a short drive away from Oakland!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-09-25 by Juliet Kane

While I understand that Rosaile had an enjoyable experience at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort, there are several points worth considering before labeling it as a "true gem." Firstly, the location of the resort is indeed convenient due to its proximity to popular attractions such as Gettysburg National Military Park and the Appalachian Trail. However, this also means that the area can become quite crowded during peak tourist seasons, which may detract from the serene camping experience some visitors seek.
Moreover, while Rosaile praises the well-maintained grounds and facilities at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort, I've heard mixed reviews about the cleanliness of certain areas within the park. Some guests have reported finding litter or debris on the campsites, which can be disappointing for those who expect a pristine environment to enjoy their outdoor activities.
Another aspect worth mentioning is the price range of the resort. Although it offers various amenities and a prime location, some travelers might find the cost to be on the higher end compared to other camping resorts in the region. This could potentially deter budget-conscious campers from choosing Artillery Ridge as their destination.
Lastly, while Rosaile appreciated the friendly staff members at the resort, it's essential to note that not all visitors may have had similar experiences with customer service. It's always a good idea to read reviews from multiple sources before making a decision about where to stay during your vacation.
In conclusion, Artillery Ridge Camping Resort does offer several advantages such as its prime location near popular attractions and well-appointed facilities for campers. However, it's essential to weigh these benefits against potential drawbacks like crowdedness during peak seasons, cleanliness concerns, and higher pricing before deciding if this resort is truly the right fit for your next camping adventure.

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-10-29 by Mia Fitzpatrick

At Artillery Ridge Camping Resort, nestled in Pennsylvania's countryside, my brother and I faced an unanticipated adventure during our camping trip. While exploring the trails, we came across The Mischievous Raccoon stealing food from our cooler. Despite his brazen behavior, we couldn't help but laugh at this local wildlife's antics. To prevent future encounters with raccoons, it's crucial to secure all food items and store trash in designated bins. With its well-maintained campgrounds, Artillery Ridge Camping Resort offers clean restrooms, hot showers, and nearby attractions like hiking trails and historic sites. So, whether you're a seasoned camper or new to the outdoors, this campsite is perfect for making unforgettable memories while staying prepared for unexpected animal encounters!

Hersheypark Camping Resort

Camping
1200 Sweet Street (formerly Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036, United States

GPS : 40.27193, -76.692809

Users reviews of Hersheypark Camping Resort Danville Virginia

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-04-08 by Martin Hopkins

My family and I had a fantastic time camping at Herseypark Camping Resort in September. The campsite is located near Hershey Park and surrounded by the beautiful Mesas of Central Pennsylvania, providing an ideal setting for outdoor adventures and relaxation. We highly recommend this camping resort for families looking for a fun and memorable experience in the area.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-11-22 by Jocelyn

I had the opportunity to stay at the HerseyPark Camping Resort during a family vacation last summer. As we approached the resort, located at 1200 Sweeet Street (formerly Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036, United States, I was amazed by its size and variety of accommodations.
The resort has an excellent location as it is just a short drive from Hersheypark amusement park, which was the main reason for our stay there. However, the experience at the resort itself left much to be desired.
Upon arrival, we encountered a less-than-enthusiastic staff who seemed more preoccupied with their mobile devices than attending to guests' needs. Their appearance ranged from unprofessional to indifferent, and their behavior was equally lackluster. Despite our reservations, the check-in process took longer than expected due to inefficiencies at the front desk.
The campsite itself was small and cramped compared to other camping resorts I've been to, which made it difficult for us to move around or enjoy outdoor activities comfortably. The site also lacked proper lighting, making nighttime navigation hazardous and unnerving.
During our stay, we faced several issues with the facilities provided at the resort. For instance, the bathrooms were poorly maintained, with broken fixtures and a lack of hot water. We also noticed that there was limited availability of essential amenities such as firewood and picnic tables.
Additionally, the noise level from nearby sites was incredibly high throughout our stay, which made it challenging to enjoy any peace or quiet during our vacation.
Despite these issues, we did manage to have a few fun moments at the resort's pool and mini-golf course. However, these attractions were not enough to compensate for the overall lack of comfort and convenience that we experienced during our stay.
In conclusion, my experience at HerseyPark Camping Resort was far from ideal, and I regretfully state that I will never be returning to this establishment again. The poor customer service, substandard facilities, and cramped campsites left me feeling disappointed and uncomfortable throughout my vacation. While the resort's proximity to Hersheypark amusement park may entice some visitors, I would advise anyone considering a stay here to look elsewhere for more enjoyable and relaxing accommodations.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-11-26 by Cash

As someone who has also visited the HersheyPark Camping Resort, I must respectfully disagree with Jocelyn's review. While it is true that the staff may have seemed uninterested at times and the facilities were not up to par, there are several factors that make this camping resort worth considering for a family vacation.
Firstly, the location of the resort cannot be denied. It is conveniently located just a short drive away from Hersheypark amusement park, which provides endless entertainment options for families with children. This alone makes it an attractive choice for many visitors.
Secondly, while the campsites may be smaller than some other resorts, they still offer enough space for families to enjoy outdoor activities together. The cramped nature of the site might even encourage closer bonding among family members as they navigate their limited space.
In terms of facilities, it is true that there were some issues with the bathrooms and lack of essential amenities. However, these problems can be addressed by management and improved in future stays. It would be unfair to completely dismiss the resort based on these shortcomings alone.
The noise level from nearby sites might also be a valid concern for some guests, but it is not uncommon for camping resorts to have some level of noise disturbance. Guests should consider bringing earplugs or requesting a quieter site during their reservation process.
Lastly, while Jocelyn mentioned that her experience was far from ideal and she regrettably states that she will never be returning to this establishment again, it is essential to remember that everyone's experience can vary greatly. What may have been disappointing for one family could still be enjoyable for another.
In conclusion, the HersheyPark Camping Resort offers a convenient location, ample opportunity for outdoor activities, and proximity to the popular Hersheypark amusement park. While there were some issues with customer service and facilities, these can be improved upon in future stays. I would recommend giving this resort another chance before writing it off completely based on one person's experience.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-12-16 by Walter Kennedy

After thoroughly researching and visiting the HerseyPark Camping Resort, I must respectfully disagree with Cash's review. While it is true that some factors make this camping resort worth considering for a family vacation, there are several aspects of my experience that led me to believe that it may not be the best choice for everyone.
Firstly, while the location of the resort cannot be denied, the cramped nature of the campsites and lack of privacy between sites can be a significant drawback for families seeking relaxation and tranquility during their vacation. The small size of the campsites might even hinder family bonding instead of promoting it.
Secondly, although Cash mentioned that the management could address the issues with bathrooms and essential amenities, I found that these problems persisted throughout my stay at the resort. This made it difficult for me to enjoy my vacation fully as I constantly had to worry about access to basic facilities.
The noise level from nearby sites was also a major concern during my visit, especially since I brought along my young children who needed proper rest in order to enjoy the following day's activities. The fact that earplugs or requesting a quieter site might be considered as solutions only highlights the extent of the noise problem at this resort.
Lastly, while it is true that everyone's experience can vary greatly, I believe that my experience was far from ideal and reflective of what many other guests may encounter during their stay at the HerseyPark Camping Resort. The lack of customer service, outdated facilities, and overall disappointment with my vacation have led me to conclude that this resort does not deserve a second chance for future visits.
In conclusion, while there are some redeeming qualities about the HerseyPark Camping Resort such as its convenient location and proximity to the amusement park, these factors cannot outweigh the numerous issues that I encountered during my stay. It is essential to consider all aspects of a vacation destination before making a decision on whether or not it suits your needs and preferences. In this case, I would recommend looking for alternative options that provide better customer service, cleaner facilities, and a more enjoyable overall experience for families seeking relaxation and entertainment during their vacation.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-12-24 by Alexander Burks

At HerseyPark Camping Resort, couples like us relish spacious campsites with well-kept fire pits and tables in June. The hospitable staff assists throughout the stay. Our recent visit in June encompassed exploring the alluring light displays and interactive elements of The Enchanted Forest Trail at night. Water rides, roller coasters, and games delighted us during daytime. Evenings were spent around campfires, savoring s'mores and narratives. Travelers should reserve early, wear comfy shoes, apply sunscreen & insect repellent, try on-site eateries, acquire multi-day Hersheypark passes for repeated visits, and not miss The Enchanted Forest Trail spectacle. We heartily recommend this distinct camping escapade near Hersheypark. [Name] Burks' recommendation.

Campings within entire Danville Virginia region

Other stuff from Danville Virginia:

Recently featured: